You Should Thank Me.

If you’re one of the people who reads my blog every day, would it kill you to leave a comment every now and then or maybe shoot me an e-mail to thank me for entertaining your boring ass every day.

I mean really. This shit doesn’t write itself, ya know. It’s a lot of work.

Yeah, I’m talking to you.

Maybe you work at a law firm in Brooklyn, or maybe for NBC in Manhattan. You might even be sitting behind a desk at Thrifty Car Rental in Troy, Michigan. Does Athens, Georgia ring a bell? Some Ithaca students check in an awful lot. This means you Akin & Bubba Gump & Strauss from D.C., and you too NYS Thruway, whatever that means. How about the Canadian and Australian following I’ve somehow managed to attract?

Seriously, assholes. Shoot me an e-mail, it’s the least you can do.

Cheers jerks,
Ryan

14 Responses

  1. I told you on FCP that I would be checking in on your site and that I enjoyed your writing, but I’ve never outright said thanks so…. thanks for posting these stories. They get me through a boring day and are very good!!!oneone111!

  2. Ah, I remember you.

    Thanks for reading, Smokewagons.

    I’m getting back to the poker tables sometime this month, so hopefully I’ll have something worth writing about in that respect, win or lose.

    I don’t think most of readers give a shit about poker, but whatever, fuck them.

    It’s nice to know who my Athens reader is.

    Thanks again,
    Ryan

  3. Guilty!
    I checked out your myspace profile – fascinating pictures! “keep it up,” and all other manner of encouraging, predictable, but always-good-to-read stuff of that nature!

    Heather (uh…in a really uncomfortable chair in an accounting office in Seattle)

  4. This is the first time I have read your blog.

    But don’t worry, I was beaten as a kid so I’m used to this type of treatment, and I obviously think it’s my fault so I’ll be coming back for more.

  5. That’s weird. I posted that and it said error so I figured it didn’t go through.

    Oh well, do you play online anywhere or just live?

  6. I discovered your pissed & petty self just a few weeks ago and have checked in, now & then. I especially enjoyed your tale of beers on the roof. So, thanks a whole damned lot, for that.

  7. I haven’t written in before, and I’m not writing in now because you’re demanding it so jackassishly. I just started reading your blog and read all the old posts and I enjoy it a lot. In fact, besides the occasional grammatic or spelling error that could be fixed by simple proofreading I think your blog is totally great. I too blog and while I just started and have had very few others really indulge in my writing, I appreciate the fandom, but I don’t do it for them, I do it for me. If other’s like what I write then good for them, but they don’t need to thank me, they don’t need to comment if they have nothing to say, just knowing that they might even be out there is enough for me. My point is that you aren’t that great buddy, you’ve written down a few interesting stories of things that have happened to you, that’s all. We all have a few stories like these and anyone could do what you have done so far. As Lenny Bruce said, “You don’t hafta applaud, it’s enough that you’re just listening.” So listen asshole, if you want people to continue to give you the time of day, don’t alienate your fucking readers. We owe you nothing. If we have something to say, we’ll say it, but we have no duty to you.

  8. Portman,

    Go sleep. You’re dumb.

    Ryan

  9. Smokewagons,

    I play online every now and then. Not alot though. I have few differenct account.

    I also am a part-time dealer. I deal poker for for private events, coorporate functions, bachelor parties, etc.

    I dealt at a fundraiser a couple weeks ago and Howard Lederer and Annie Duke were there. It was pretty fun.

  10. That’s pretty sweet. I’d like to meet Lederer but Annie’s just seems really annoying. I read a story on Lederer’s life coming up through the poker ranks and becoming a pro and it would be really interesting to hear his version of it. Did you get to talk to either?

  11. I haven’t resorted to insults to get my meager readership to leave comments on my page. Maybe that’s what I’m doing wrong: I’m being too nice. (I know you think I’m being sarcastic, but I’m wondering if that’s the problem; in this world, no one pays attention to you unless you’re being a complete asshole.) Thanks, and fuck everyone. (I’m trying it out.)

  12. Wow portman, you suck.

    Ryan;
    I read your blog daily.
    I am in Australia.
    You rock and keep up the good work.

  13. Hey man, yea I would be an Ithaca person you refer to. Your blog is awesome and keep this shit up. I’m graduated and jobless and need entertainment!

  14. I’m going to assume you DON’T mean me…since I’ve left several comments AND because I am the only reason you and Sarah touched base again. But, if you are talking to me, Fuck you Ryan Potts.

    Just kidding – really do love you! Thanks for makin’ me laugh.

Leave a Reply

