Your 59/50 Hat: Why The Sticker?

Take that stupid sticker off of your hat. You look ridiculous.

I work in advertising and marketing for major entertainment entities (TV, Film, Radio, etc.) in NYC. It is my job to wear a suit to work in order to dissect patterns of thought relating to modern trends among various demographics and advise companies on how best to exploit utilize these findings to maximize profit, more or less.

Regardless of my suit or my Welsh/German ancestry, many savvy parties have found it appropriate to pick my brain in regards to several various urban marketing strategies. My clients’ feedback and results indicate that I might actually know what I’m talking about. Fuck, I mean, I did stare Ice-T square in his face while he was rollin’ dirty and he didn’t even try to front.
.

Now that I have sufficiently qualified myself as a man who skips stones across cultural barriers while blindfolded, I feel comfortable admitting that I, in fact, do not know everything about urban culture. Following is a question which has been torturing me for at least five years. I have been asked this exact question by exactly two of my clients:

“Why do urban youth keep the stickers and tags on their hats? Is this something we can use?”

The truth: I have no fucking clue.

What I actually said: “Do you know the Outkast track ‘So Fresh, So Clean’? It’s like that. The freshness of the sticker on a man’s hat is intended to directly reflect a man’s financial security. The freshness of a sticker on a hat has a short shelf life. If a man is consistently seen among his peers with a fresh sticker on his hat, the man is assumed to be financially secure, as he can obviously afford to buy many many hats. This elevates a man’s status among his peers.”

My clients nod maniacally with wide eyes, drooling like they’ve just smelled meat for the first time.

“So, we can really capitalize on this market, right?” they ask.

“Sure,” I said “if you don’t mind your target market paying you with stacks of less-than-fresh stickers attached to perfectly good hats.”

-seriously though, does anyone really know
what the deal is with the stickers on the hats?

[UPDATE: I just found out that the stickers are left on the hat to prove that the hat is genuine, and not a knock off. How fucking stupid is that?]

[UPDATE: Depending on which idiot you ask, there are several other reasons for this.  If I were to repeat these reasons, I am certain that my brain would instantly die. Do your own research.]

118 Responses

  1. I like your analogy better. I think any explanation that references an Outkast song should be accepted as correct…

  2. @Amberlina: Thanks. I chose “So Fresh, So Clean” because I couldn’t figure out how to work “Bombs Over Baghdad” into my answer.

    “…weather man tellin’ us is ain’t gon’ rain. so now we sittin’ in a drop-top, soakin’ wet, in a silk suit, tryin’ not to sweat…”

    Deal killer.

  3. well i totally understand why people do it. i find it stupid. but you know what’s also stupid? your inability to place yourselve in the minds of these people who wear these hats.

    i admit its pretty stupid, but just about any social group hast these kinds of little things that may seem stupid to outsiders.. but hey people are who they are and you should let them be and (at least try) to be understanding.

    you probably belong to some group in some form, that does certain things/ wear certain clothes/ act a certain way(maybe go rant about people who like to ware hats with stickers on them on your blog?(by the way, seriously who cares?)) etc. why would you go make fun of these people on your blog just because you don’t understand them?

    cya

    • What is it to understand? What’s the “social group” called? Douche Hats or something?

    • “you probably belong to some group in some form, that does certain things/ wear certain clothes/ act a certain way(maybe go rant about people who like to ware hats with stickers on them on your blog?”

      Ranting about people doing something is just as weird as doing it? I love it when people just try to desperately find any random way to make someone look hypocritical and fall flat on their face. It makes absolutely no sense. There’s nothing to understand. People might as well leave those 12 inch long stickers on their jeans and socks too. Jesus Christ.

  4. @tarik bos: It’s not that serious.

  5. Lol, in all honesty it really isn’t that serious. I’m wearin a 59FIFTY right now, sticker attached, I didn’t take offense to the article at all. Enjoyed the read tho.

  6. does it really bother you that much you have to write about it, its no more ridiclious than the suit and tie you wear to work everyday in the end your just another faceless goon in the crowd.

    and the sticker is left to prove that it is not a rip off, fakes cost around 20 dollars where as the real thing cost upwards of 40 or 50 bucks which makes leaving the sticker there the proper way to tell that the hat is an authentic and the same brand the team wears.

    In my opinion I think you should come to the streets of North Philly and shoot your opinion around to some of the heads out there, would be pretty funny to watch.

    • I need to prove to my fellow monkeys that the baseball cap I am wearing isn’t a knockoff. Monkey see, monkey do. Too bad you monkeys can’t just go drown yourselves like lemmings and make society a better place.

    • youll prolly never read this but tee hee, that would be kinda funny

    • I thought it was a secret code so fags could identify each other. To me they look like wanna be mannequins. “look at me…my clothes still have tags on them….I’m a fucking dummy”

    • Right, because someone couldn’t possibly pull the sticker the off of a genuine hat at Lids or something and then put it on their knockoff. That doesn’t prove anything. And if I made knockoffs, I would put a knockoff sticker on them. Genius, isn’t it? By the way, I get the genuine on-field hats off Amazon for less than $30, but I bend the brim and take off the stickers because I’m not a douchebag.

    • Shit is retarded looking and I share that opinion with all my friends who do it. Looking like a fool is not a “style”

  7. “and the sticker is left to prove that it is not a rip off, fakes cost around 20 dollars where as the real thing cost upwards of 40 or 50 bucks which makes leaving the sticker there the proper way to tell that the hat is an authentic and the same brand the team wears.”

    OMG, big ballin’. 50 dollars for a hat. Look at me, I have fifty dollars. Really?! The fact that urban culture is centering their ‘peer value’ around the ‘appearance’ of money 50 dollars at a time is really … well … retarted.

    Everytime I pass a person with a sticker on their hat I notice that everyone else is laughing at them while they think they are hot shit.

    A rapper did it. Wannabe ‘thugs’ saw it. Wannabe ‘thugs’ did it. Look at me, I’m a balla … ahhhhh.

    • You spelled retarded wrong, retard

      • RETARTED is a word.. to be tarted again. Tart, tarted and retarted. I don’t want any of that.

        Notice the thug that wears the $50 dollar cap also wears a fake 10carat diamond on his ear. Some monkeys will wear two of these fakes. Stupid monkey.

    • Its because it is fresh shiny and original and if u want to take your sticker off and wear it and think your fresh your a stupid retard who doesnt know shit and will get beat up fast by me

      • Oh yeah, so cool and so fresh. I’d rather have a life.

      • Oh please, I hope you get your shit wrecked.
        Internet hardassing over a stupid trend; which, by the way is gay as fuck. I bend my bill and rip off that fruity little sticker right away, I buy the hats because I like the team, not to look “fresh”, play that shit around me and I’d bend your bill.

  8. Because they are too lazy to remove the sticker….Duhhh

  9. ….have you ever noticed the sticker actually looks good, its a nice sticker. why do people buy stickers to put on stuff in the first place? .. Cause they are aesthetically pleasing. If you dont get that then go f*ck yourself.

  10. when it comes down to it its a freedom. Everyone has a right to wear the stickers on their hats. Anyone else has every right to criticize those who have stickers on their hats. Personally I think it is a silly fashion trend that will fade away in the next 5 years. I think it is sad that people in general feel so insecure that they have to have a status symbol bought with money. This has been true through history and nothing will change it. People want the bigger better things and they want to be acknowledged for having the bigger better thing. I’m sure that it will always be this way. its just too bad it has to include informational stickers being left on hats. Its just a hat. There are better ways to get high social status. Oh well.

  11. eh im a teenage youth rockin a 59FIFTY right now..no stickers..but when i got my first hats i kept the size sticker on. its just like wearing diamond earrings, it makes you catch eyes day or night. but after a while of hearing people say “you know the sticker is still on your hat, right?” i got to thinking that maybe they catch eyes BECAUSE people think that, so i promptly removed the stickers on all of my hats. i dont think it has to do with freshness, or authenticity, or acting like a gangster. its almost like saying fuck i just spent $30+ on this hat, you BETTER look. personally i think keeping them on while the hat is still new is alright, but seeing a sweat-stained, dirtied up cap with a shiny sticker is an insight into how hard someone is trying to be “cool”. also, i would like to add that i think the new official MLB On-Field stickers (you know, the ones that cover the entire brim with facts about your hat) destroy any point in wearing the cap. you can tell an official hat just by its fit, no need to have a sticker entirely covering the brim to prove it.

  12. Skickers on caps are stupid….. they are “hungry”… i collect hats and i noticed that the hats i wear more than the others tend to fade in the sun or get dirty,….etc… that sticker covers stuff up so when u finally take that sticker off cuz its peeling then the hat under the sticker is a different color… now u look like a jackass…. New era 5950’s are easy to tell from a fake…. looks like shit…..

  13. Looking like NIGGaS

  14. them black fellers wear those stupid stickers, I buy new era hats all the time, except I buy the knockoff hats 3 for $30, maybe thats why black folk steal all the time so they can go buy another $50 hat with a sticker…..ignorant.

    • your all a bunch of faggots with no lives. and 59 50 hats with stickers are fresh as hell so suck a dick

      • True that. Fitted caps all day.

      • ahahahahah, yea there “fresh” if your an attention starved troubled soul.
        Anyone wearing those flat brimmed hats with the stickers on are usually of very low intelligence, and just looking to fit in due to their insecurities.
        …a common response from people wearing these hats —> “you guys are faggots or losers for not being in style.”
        LMFAO how pathetic they are, they use trendy douche words such as “fresh” & “swag” what sad fucking individuals ahahahahahahaha!

  15. niggers = monkeys , everybody know this , tupac once said : something will never change
    sorry blacks

    • fuck you stupid bitch im white and you still got me mad with that stupid ass shit i swear if you seen me ever and said that ill beat you until your black you fucking retard FUCK YOU BITCH

      • This man just proved my point.
        he only has half a brain so he must resort to insults and repetitive swears because he can’t think of anything else to say, hense they’re low intelligence. You sad, sad bastards.

  16. Just got myself an Atlanta Braves cap took the sticker right off and realized the size was right so I stuck it back on and tried to exchange it for a bigger size. The dude wouldn’t give me a refund or an exchange simply because the sticker was in ‘terrible’ condition. So it obviously has some severe importance to those that buy those types of caps.. however, not me.

    Seen a dude with a Yankee’s cap and he had the stickers and I asked why, cause all it does is tell ya the size.. didn’t really have a response.

    I bought another cap and took it off right away.. It’s like walking around town with the tags still attached to your shirt, which we all know is gay.

    • Maybe you should try your hat on before buying it, I mean, it’s not like your head will grow (or shrink) all of a sudden, so why would they keep the sticker on when they know it fits?

  17. why do girls wear those ugly ass ballet slipper type shoes? why do guys wear faggy skinny jeans? eveyone wears things that other people think is stupid. yes i leave the gold sticker on my 59fifty hat cause i think it looks good and it shows that its legit. now be done with it

    • I’m disappointed in those racist motherf*ckers who commented earlier. I’m white – I know I’m white – and I’ve got a New Era hat with a sticker on it on right now. My hat’s black on black an the sticker adds some emphasis to the hat and it’s also true that it shows it’s an authentic New Era hat. Furthermore, it is a pretty nice sticker as stickers go and lastly, it’s only a big deal because people make it one.

      If u don’t make a point to look and see if that dude over there took his sticker off, it wouldn’t be a big deal. It’s on the top of the brim, how often do you look down on a dude brim anyways (unless you’re lookin for the sticker).

      PS – the real reason most people keep the sticker on is because most everyone else who gets a New Era Hat keeps the sticker on and it’s human nature to want to be apart of a movement.

      The only reason people make a big deal about it is because the trend started in the “ghetto” and has spread into the “majority” youth and some people are scared when those boundaries are crossed in that manor. Newsflash people, it’s not “lowering society” – it’s a trend, one that many like and are following atm.

      • Sorry for so many posts, but another reason to leave it on is so that you can take your hat on and off without getting dirt (from your hands) on the hat itself. They also got that baseball sticker on the underside sometimes and you can ideally never get your hat dirty even if you fingers are (say from playing baseball or any other sport)…

    • And I agree, those skinny jeans are gay as shit (but that’s just my opinion).

      • From white guy to white guy, you are trying too hard. Yes, its nice to be PART of something, but you said APART meaning to distance something from something else. HENCEFORTH, I wear skinny jeans cause my girl likes them and hey, if I have a better relationship for having my boys suffer for my gf’s sake then so be it, but its none of your business to call a straight male gay since you aren’t in the relationship. You know what the hat stands for ghetto pride/freshness/etc but you still try to be part of something your not… Kind of like all of the fucking cockfags who say our team won even though they aren’t part of the team. Kind of just like all the morons who wear sports teams hats and get in drunken arguments over teams and area codes…if you want to be part of that go ahead, but just know the rest of society is laughing at the “clothing” attempt of fitting in

  18. Of all my fetishes, hats have a special place in my heart, but specifically the Ball Cap.
    The ball cap has been in steady use since its inception in 1806, and it is commonly accepted fact that its introduction into mainstream fashion was made through notable film directors such as Spike Lee and Steven Spielberg, replacing the beret.

    At the top of the game in ball caps is a company called New Era, founded by a German immigrant named Ehrhardt Koch. 59Fifty’s line of fitted ball caps has become increasingly fashionable in urban centers and within the Hip-Hop, Emo, Hardcore, and Skater cultures. The 59Fifty line is also the official on-field cap for every major and minor league baseball team.

    A recent trend has been to keep the the gold sizing sticker on the brim of the hat. The sticker itself is part of a two sticker application during manufacturing and lists the fitted hat size, logo, and motto; “Originators of the true fitted”. One large informational sticker is peeled away from the brim leaving behind the single gold sticker. This would seem intentional, and it is, but not for obvious reasons.

    The recent debate has been whether these stickers are meant to be kept and worn on the hat? This question has been answered by many with the consensus being about an even 50/50.

    Reason I’ve heard to keep the sticker on are;
    – To communicate to everyone how “fresh”/new you hat is.
    – That the hat is authentic New Era merchandise.
    – As a status symbol regarding retail purchase price- that goes back to the authenticity.
    – As a place to hold the hat while putting it on or taking it off so as not to grime it up.
    – Because the gold sticker itself looks good on the hat.

    Reasons I’ve heard to take the sticker off;
    – Removing the sticker results in a sticky residue left behind that attracts and holds dirt.
    – Over time the sticker will ware out and come off. (If you ware your hat out in the sun, the possibility of sun bleaching could leave behind a dark patch where the sticker would be)
    – Its classified as manufacturing packaging and like price tags or wrapping, should be removed.
    – Looks ridiculous as a style trend.

    The reality is:
    The two part sticker application was designed to uphold the appearance of the gold sticker, but this was intended for the retailers of the hats. Originally 59Fifty’s were supposed to be merchandised with only the gold sticker. The informational sticker protecting the gold one was meant to be removed by the retailer before the hat was displayed. Without the protective outer sticker during shipping to stores, the foil of the gold sticker would become scratched and would not show as well on shelves. The gold sticker itself is not considered an actual Certification Mark or Authenticity Seal by its makers. The accurate location of the Hallmark is struck into the underside of the button inside the hat, its the New Era logo. The Authenticity seal is a numbered rectangular hologram featuring the Major Baseball League logo and is most often located on the underside of the brim.

    Conclusions:
    – The stickers were never intended for wear by the customer.
    – 59Fifty hats retail between $30-$50 each, so the gold sticker does not, I repeat: DOES NOT mean you have the big buck$.
    – The gold sticker has absolutely nothing to do with labels of product authenticity.
    – A place to rest your paws? If you have dirty hands, wash them. Why would you touch yourself with dirty hands anyway? wash up then touch your hat.
    – Manufacturing/shipping materials have never been considered fashionable since that was not their intended purpose.
    – All trends/fads end.

    Interesting fact:
    In the summer of 2007, New Era voluntarily pulled three styles from shelves across the country because the designs on the caps were seen to be gang-related. A New Era spokesperson stated that the company does not market to gangs and when notified by activist groups and public officials, the company took immediate action.

  19. The racist and homophobic comments here are UNACCEPTABLE and are NOT representative of the spirit of this post.

    Moving forward, I will ban anyone who posts comments of such a nature.

  20. Hello !…… interessant publication… I publish here because you perhaps may be able to help me. I know, it’s not the exactly exactly place to publish but … I search a 100percent free hosting service that is ok to accept Perl. Have you a reputable host or at the best a reputable free hosters database or something like that… etc.. for that ? only another thing: Do you know totally free ads free hosting ?? How have you built your website ? See you

  21. why do people care so much about this, i leave it on because it adds something to a plain hat with 1 logo on it, its not trying to be cool or anything, and where im from i dont see many people with a 59fifty new era hat with it off, and its a ****ing hat, who gives a ****.

  22. dude you totally just took the time to write all that crap..looks like it’s you that gives a shit actually. ASS! and so your pretty much saying you want to be just like everyone else..good for you fucktard.

  23. people keep the gold 59fifty sticker to show off that its a 59fifty thats all. these hats arent cheap theyre like $60 a piece

  24. I believe STICKERS also identifies some of the users of the famous wacky weed. Thug life and all it entails. Cops are hip to stickers on cars and ball caps.

  25. many of them probably want to relive their childhood…remember how the teacher’d give out gold stars for good behaviour…perhaps the gold shininess makes one reminisce of the the good old days where having $2 to buy ice-cream would be out of this world…nevermind having $50 for a cap…

  26. hah ok i live in Detroit Michigan which is definitely one of the first places to ever keep the stickers on the hat if not 1st or second we are before 3rd.. It is simply left there to prove its authentic and you didnt buy it at a gas station as a knock off. There are $10 gas station hats and $35 fiftynine fifty hats way different in our book. Gas station hat does to our public eye signify broke mufucka to stable muhfucka.. Yer str8 wit a Fiftynine Fifty but rockin the gas station boy you look stupid might as well do ur damn hair ya tool.. You get more ladys w a bald head than a gas station hat fersure not to mention you know less people will be at the judge of you if you just do yer hair i save up for a new one every 3 months er so and keep them all 3 mnths is all the use they will see to ensure i keep value in my lids… Although there are very few worth great money all together they are worth a small car in my town at least $2000 w just 50 of them and more than a few are unworn plus a couple are signed.. The sticker stays to show its real and how worn it is.

  27. Each to his own. It’s a style, no matter what others think. I can respect the fact that one may or may not like it, but why rant about it? What I especially hate here too are posts about fitteds (with or without a sticker) being a “black” or “ghetto” thing. I wear fitteds all the time with and without stickers, and I sing in my church’s youth choir! IT’S JUST A FAD AND PROOF OF AUTHENTICITY.. Jeez..

  28. I have to agree with Martin on his “black/ghetto” remark.
    As history will show, the first afro-american ball player was Jackie Robinson, who only began his career in 1947, about bout 80 years after the ball cap had already been invented. Wiki attributes the first notable use of the ball cap in fashion to film directors such as Spike Lee and Steven Spielberg, replacing the beret. And both as far away from “ghetto” life as you can get. Definitely as Martin has said above, to “each his own”. But using the sticker to prove something to everyone else, be it authenticity or quality of care only serves to denote a certain lack of self-confidence. If you know it’s real and you take good care of your lids, then what does it matter what other people think.
    The last thing on my mind when I see another person wearing a New Era cap is “I wonder if it’s real?”, with the amount of superior knock-offs currently on the market, you had better have a sales receipt to show instead of some sticker on your brim, and thats even more ridiculous an idea than the sticker.

  29. They look stupid even without the sticker. All they make me think of is the elderly, babies, and the mentally disabled.

    Actually, that explains a lot. . .

  30. I keep the stickers on my hats because it’s hip-hop and fresh. It evolved from people leaving the tags on their clothes and hats in the late 80’s and has carried over to the present.

    So leaving the tags on isn’t new, it’s only evolved from a card hanging off the hat to a sticker. The 59FIFTY cap has a unique appealing sticker anyway so why not leave it on? It has nothing to do with telling you my head size and it’s wierd if your that close to read it anyway. So back the fuck up and let people wear their clothes the way they want too, stupid ass nosey whiney dumb motherfuckers.

  31. Thats the best you got? LOL

  32. The best I got? thats the reason why the rend exists what more do I need to say? ;X all these dudes have bull shit reasons like “Oh I don’t want to get my hat dirty, i’m too lazy to take it off blah blah blah” thats fuckin stupid. They don’t even really know why they do it they just keep it on caus they think it looks cool.

    Why are you all trippen over hats anyway? I don’t see any blogs about stupid ass rednecks who rip the sleeves off their T-shirts, people who intentionaly cut up their jeans? Your all a bunch of whiney bitches get a life and stop complainin about stupid shit :\ Complain about something like rapists, murderes and racists

  33. yet here you are spending as much time as anyone else here just runnin your mouth..you must be an american.

  34. I am infact an American :D. and I found this blog two days, thats the least time spent on here out of all you. I’m not complaining just clearing things up on this subject.. you must be a Korean because you seem to hate everthing LOL

  35. “You found this blog two days”…what?….ago? Fuck at least your backwards country could teach you some grammar. And I’d hardly call your uneducated rant about nothing “clearing things up on the subject”. Just like you fuckin american’s to make everything you look at a race issue.

  36. @ Vinnson – could you just leave this blog, this discussion is for people who can write and actually MAKE a point.

  37. @ Vinson – Dude, your a total TOOL. Back the fuck up douche bag.

  38. Agreed Nos.

  39. Thinks Vinson is inbred. Say hi to your uncle dad for me. LOL

  40. Stickers on hats are not hip-hop and fresh at all. It screams insecurity because your just doing what everyone else is doing. Can you say POSER!

  41. fresh? how is an idea from the 80’s fresh? I think vinson is just to poor to buy another hat, so he keeps the sticker on his so his ass don’t look so broke.

  42. LMAO not hip-hop? Most every rapper, DJ, hip-hop dancer and b-boy wears their hats with the stickers. I’m pretty sure it is Hip-hop faggot boy. If it isn’t what is it then?

    A tool josh? Wtf does that mean? Your a “tool” for saying something so fuckin stupid, douce bag

    And 80’s ideas arn’t fresh? I’m pretty sure alot of fresh new innovative things came about in the 80’s King C, how old are you? 13? You need to read up on history :/ I have 8 clean fresh New Era hats, more hats than your broke ass :D

    Mark North “Thinks Vinson is inbred. say hi to your uncle dad for me. LOL” Wtf kind of statement is that? You talk in the 3rd person or something douce bag? You sound like that ugly little bitch from the lord of the rings, go

    And damn I accidently leave out one word and you jump on me for it lol trying to find anything you can to bring me down I see. Sounds like your all a bunch of insecure nerd bitches who thrive on negativity like dumb teenage blonde girls.

    New Era hats with the stickers on are ill as fuck

  43. USA! USA! USA! USA!

  44. the little half breed just keeps going, and going lol

  45. Just because every rapper, DJ, and hip hop dancer wears them does not make them hip hop. It’s still a ball cap my friend. A ball cap that was invented by a white man, and a white GERMAN man still owns the company to this day. “Hip hop” is an invention of the last 20 years, and the ball cap has existed for about 100. African Amerasians weren’t even allowed to play pro ball until the 40’s. Hip hop? please! So you think because you sport a New Era cap your hip hop? Faggot boy? You use that word so much it makes me think YOUR gay. And since there is nothing wrong with gays your attempt to use that word as a jab at me is pretty pathetic actually.

    You don’t know what Tool means? just proves the point other made here that you really are as restarted as you sound. No one here talking to has even once mentioned how many caps they own, so to say you have more hats that anyone is pretty immature…in truth, from your style of writing I can tell your no more that 16 max. If thats true, your opinion on anything means pretty much nothing. Come back in a few years after you can form a decent opinion on something with life experience to back it up. Because your susch a retard, let me spell out “uncle dad” for you. YOUR MOM AND DAD ARE BROTHER AND SISTER!!! LOL For the record I own 25 caps.

  46. watch out everyone! Vinson is a fresh, gay, hip hop rapper with really great ideas from the 80s. LMFAO

  47. @ Nos – lol Your right, he does sound like he’s 16 LOL. I don’t talk to anyone under 21….it’s pointless.

  48. lol UNCLE DAD!!! thats awesome bro!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hey Nos, I have 24 caps myself :D My last pick up was a Yankees custom. I’ll post a pic in NE cap talk if your on there.

  49. Vinson has a small D_ _ K

  50. @Lequita
    were not talkin about or to him anymore, he has nothing relevant to contribute.

  51. anyone know of a single rapper, DJ, hip-hop dancer or b-boy that owns an international cap company? I didn’t think so.

  52. @ Mike – Sup,
    I’m on the site for sure..I write for the Cap care section. You should make your post in the Show em’ off section of the site so I can find it. Where did you make the pick up?

  53. Nos,

    First, throwing a “shut the fuck up” off the cuff is entirely within the character of this blog.

    Second, respectfully, if you are familiar with online forums you should know better than to be baited in by the trolls.

    Frankly, I tired of my email and cell phone blowing up with degenerative bickering. I understand that you actually contribute to the conversation and I appreciate that but please don’t feed the trolls.

    Thank you and have a good day.

  54. I personally take the size sticker off the 59fiftys that I wear but I do leave the hologram underneath on — not because it shows that it is authentic, but just because I love holograms! OOH SHINY!

    Truth be told I really don’t care about the brand of my hats – I focus on the design and 59fifty hands down makes the best quality and designs of my favorite teams. That is why I buy them. I have plenty of hats with comic book characters, bands, movies and other shit. Most of them are not a special brand and I get way more compliments and questions like ‘Where did you get that Joker hat? It’s fresh!” Never had anyone ask me jack shit about my 59fiftys thou.

    The only time I leave the top sticker on is if I am going to have a player or team sign the hat. I treat those lids as collectible, and never wear them. I also leave the tags on those ones. To be collectible all packaging needs to be intact and they should never, ever be wore. Wearing immediatly kills the value just like opening an action figure or reading a comic.I have one lid that I got an entire team to sign – even got the coach and owner! I even have photos from the signing party to prove the autographs are authentic. That’s a true collectible lid right there.

    When I see someone rocking the top sticker I don’t think one way or other about it. It’s a fashion statement — just not one I practice. To be honest I think that a few colors look especially nice with the sticker – like all white or all black. It breaks up the monotony of the design – gives it a little color.

    <3, peace and chicken grease

    -Drew Sin

  55. I understand why they leave the sticker on.Because I am am a fellow kid who does this. To me it honestly isn’t about other kids doing it but because it let’s me know I am different from others one and two it Is also because it let’s me know that the hat is real and not a fake it’s a symbol to me that I earned it and bought the real thing. Kind of like girls and purses they always have like random chains they leave showing the brand so people knows it’s expensive hope that explains people

  56. I’M A NIGGER
    SHE’S A NIGGER
    HE’S A NIGGER
    WERE ALL NIGGERS
    WOULDN’T YOU LIKE TO BE A NIGGER TOO?
    WHAT UP SHEBOONS
    WHAT UP SLICK RICKS
    YOU GOTS THE SWAGG, YOU GOT THAT GOOD, GOOD?
    THE REAL REASON THAT WIGGERS, SPICS AND HALF BREEDS…..
    ALONG WITH THE FAST AND FURIOUS GENERATION, MIXED WITH AMERICAN IDOL……
    THEY KEEP THE TAG ON TO RETURN IT IN A WEEK OR SO OR JUST SIMPLY SMUGGLE THE SLIGHTLY USED CAP INTO THE STORE AND “SWAP” IT FOR A NEW ONE. THESE FUGGERS SO CHEAP THAT THEY WIL STEAL A WHOLE BUNCH OF KETCHUP PACKETS FROM MCDONALDS AND TAKE THEM HOME TO FILL UP THEIR KETCHUP BOTTLE. ITS CHEAP GHETTO PSYCHOLOGY. YOU FUGGING JAG OFF’S THINK IT’S COOL TO RIDE AROUND IN YOUR CARS WITH THE SEAT LAID BACK? NIGGERS INVENTED IT SO THE PO PO CANT SEE THEM THAT WELL. YOU COPY WHAT SINCERE AND TRUTHFUL NIGGERS DO TO GET BY BECAUSE THEY HAVE TO DO IT. YOU JUST THINK ITS COOL. I ACTUALLY LIKE NIGGERS MORE THAN YOU FAKE WHIGGING WANNABEES. CANT EVEN COME ORIGINAL. WHATS FUNNY IS WHEN NIGGERS BEAT LITTLE WHIGGERS ASSES AND THEY CRY ABOUT IT AND SAY ITS RACIST. BUT ITS OK FOR PIECE OF SHIT WHITE JIT BOYS TO THINK THEY ARE NIGGERS. I THINK THAT NIGGERS THAT INVENTED ALL THIS SHIT, ITS PRETTY FUGGING STUPID. BUT YOU FUGGING HALF-BREED, NON-NEGROS ARE WORSE. BECAUSE YOU HAVE NO CLUE, NO FUGGING CLUE WHY YOU ARE DOING IT.

    • DIS DUDES A FUCKING RETARD…IM WHITE N I PROUDLY WEAR MY O’S FITTED WITH THE STICKER ON IT …UR A BITCH ….I GOT MANY BLACK FRIENDS WHO WILL SUPPORT ME ON THIS…ITS NOT BOUT COLOR IT ABOUT HEART ..IM 5 ‘6 WIT A HEART OF 5 MEN N I WEAR MY FITTED LIKE THIS BECAUSE I CHOOSE TO N I COCK THE SEAT BACK IN MY WHIP CUS I CHOOSE TO EAT A DICK IF U DNT LIKE IT …I THINK I SPEAK FOR THE REST OF THE WHITE BOYS WHEN I SAY FUCK YOU ….BLACK PPL GET BEAT UP JUS LIKE WHITE PPL DO U FUCKING IDIOT …COME TO BALTIMORE N SAY THAT I BET THESE WHITE BOYS BEAT THE SHIT OUT UR DUMB ASS……P.S WE LEAVE THE STICKERS ON THERE CUS ITS A SIGN THAT THE HAT IS FRESH …WE DNT RETURN THEM LMFAO EAT A DICK FAGGET

  57. I get that: Sticker = Not fake hat

    But couldn’t people very easily fake stickers

    I’m sure it’s 1000x easier than faking the hat itself.

    Then they could sell it to you for 50 dollars, and you’d have a fake hat and sticker… but you did pay 50 bucks for it… so does the amount you pay make it real?

  58. I think people are taking this way too seriously. Look, I’m a perfectly normal 14 year old girl, and I happen to like the new era caps. I actually own a NY yankees one, and yes, I have the sticker on it. Why? I’m not trying to impress anyone with “Oh, this one is real, more expensive” or anything like that. Hell, it wasn’t even my money anyways, so why should anyone care? I just leave it on because I like the way it looks. I like it. That’s it. I don’t leave the sticker on so people think i have money or anything. In fact, people must think I look like a dork. I’m a girl, walking around with a (usually) boy’s cap on with a golden sticker on it. I’m surprised no one’s laughed in my face while I walk down the street. Obviously I’m not wearing it to impress anyone. The point is, I don’t care what anyone thinks about what I’m wearing or the way I wear it, because if I did, I obviously wouldn’t wear that cap in public at all. That being said, I don’t leave the sticker on for any specific reason other than cause I like it and that’s who I am. Evidently my story isn’t the same as everyone else’s, but I’m saying this cause I think you people shouldn’t generalize and be so harsh, calling people idiots without even knowing their side of the story. Anyways, I just wanted to express what I felt and that’s it. (y)

  59. lol. what a bunch of “URBAN” trash! I’m wearing a new era hat right now, bought it today, ripped the stickers off as I left the store. if you need to that kind of validation you are absolutely retarded.

    • Agreed, although I wouldn’t say “retarded”, more like “insecure”. To put it bluntly, instead of spending money on a $50 hat that everyone and their momma wears, develop your mind and an indivualistic personality.

  60. Lol when it comes down to it, it’s just like what an earlier poster said, it’s human nature to want to be a part of something, but the problem here is that you’re really just sacrifing your own indiviuality & becoming nothing more than a generic clone of your peers.

    Society in general today is so materialistic whether it be stickered hats, cars, sneakers etc.

  61. I can’t help but think that the majority of the people on here, like myself, stumbled upon this posting performing a google search on “why do people leave stickers on their hat?” and are, for the first time, discovering the reasons why ;-) (you know who you are). This has been a good read, thanks all! I’ve never owned one of these hats, but after seeing their quality I may start buying them going forward (stickers off of course)

  62. why does it matter? I dont get why people without a limp use a cane or why people wear fake glasses (like without the lenses or just clear non perscription lenses) i have very bad vision and this more than anything doesnt make any sort of sense. yet i dont sit here and trip about it, b1tching like a little b1tch about what i dont understand. if i looked at any of you nay sayers and broke down your outfit i could find something to nag and rant about too. go look in the mirror and tell me everything your wearing has a point, if it does then suck a mean d1ck b1tches, your sh1t is lame. (b1tch)

  63. OK, 1ST OF ALL, FOR I SEE THAT ALL OF YOU ON THIS BLOG OR WHATEVER ARE PROVING NO POINTS BUT ARGUMENTS INSTEAD. I’LL BE PERFECTLY HONEST WITH YOU, THE STICKERS ARE JUST THERE TO BE THERE 4 THE OWNERS OWN LIKING TO THEM. IT SHOULD NOT BE DEBATED ABOUT WHAT 1 WANTS TO DO WITH THOSE FLASHY SHINY COOL STICKERS. IF YOU LIKE THEM KEEP THEM ON, IF NOT TAKE THEM OFF. THATS IT GUYS. ITS NOT THE WORST THING, I AM ACTUALLY WEARING A CINCINNATI REDS HAT RIGHT THIS SECOND WITH THE STICKERS ON, BUT THAT DOES NOT MEAN IM A FOOL OR AN IDIOT OR WHATEVER, ITS MEANS THAT ME MYSELF LIKE THEM. AND I HAVE TO TELL YOU, THAT ALL OF REALLY “ANY” RACE WEAR THEM. I DO KNOW THAT IF YOU REMOVE THEM, (AND DONT THINK IM USING CAPS CAUSE IM MAD) NO.. IM JUST TRYING TO GET IT OUT THERE AS CLEAR AS POSSIBLE,… SO ITS REALLY ANY RACE THAT WEARS THEM. THE STICKERS HAVE BEEN PUT THERE BY THE COMPANY NEW ERA INC. JUST TO SHOW HOW THEY ARE. BUT YOU KNOW WHAT? LIKE I SAID, ITS ALWAYS WHAT YOU LIKE, NOT WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK. THERE ARE REALLY 3 STICKERS THAT COME ON THE HAT. 1. BEING THE PRICE TAG THAT IS SCANNED WHEN PURCHESED, 2. BEING THE REGULAR REFLECTIVE BRIM STICKER ON THE TOP OF THE BILL, AND 3. THE SMALL HOLOGRAM RECTANGULAR STICKER THAT SHOWS THE AUTHENTICITY OF THE HAT. SO EVERYONE PLEASE STOP ARGUING OVER THIS, CAUSE WHETHER YOU DO OR NOT, PEOPLE WILL STILL DO WHAT THEY LIKE. THANKS

  64. Poor people are always trying to show they aren’t. Wealthy people find no need to wear gaudy flash “identity enhancers” people who seek their identity through others opinions are lost souls trapped in the dysfunctional egoic mind.

  65. Nice Blog. Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about Cranium Fitteds which offers New Era Hat , New Era Caps, New Era Fitted Hats, New Era Fitted Caps and Fitted Hats etc..

  66. Omg you guys are all drop kicks! i do own a lot of snap-backs and yes i leave the sticker on! not to show i’m rich not to prove i’m poor but because it looks better, it suits the hats “Fresh” if someone didn’t want to look good and “Fresh” then why would they bother buying a $50 snap-back anyway? there are many hats out there to use for proper uses that can cost less then 10 bucks but why do we not choose to buy these hats? for style… when in public you wanna look your best and how you style is up to you, there are people like you who wear suits and ties and look fancy then there are people who are Emo and have the whole black clothes, makeup and side bangs going on and then there are people like me who have there hair done up wearing a snap back in skinny jeans and rolling the High top shoes! its just society we are what we are and no matter how people look at us were not gonna change!! especially not over some blog…

    • If you think wearing a sticker on your hat is in any way “style” you have been lead astray. The only thing it says about you is that you’re sadly underdeveloped and lack the maturity to think for yourself. It looks cheap. I dont care if the hat cost $300, wearing the sticker makes you look dumb, tacky, cheap and adolescent. The purpose of the sticker is to make the size clearly identifiable for consumers. They are meant to be removed, unless you live in a trailer park, then you can keep them on. The purpose of the blog is not to make you change. Its just a place for smart people to make fun of you. So keep wearing your stickers and sagging your jeans so the rest of us, who have brains, have something to laugh about ;)

  67. it is just a sign use by gays yo show they are gay. The hip hop scene has taking this brcause it is gay music

  68. Same reason you wear a suit and tie. To make your self feel better by wearing a certain type of clothing the way you want to wear it.

    • “To make your self feel better by wearing a certain type of clothing the way you want to wear it.”….is such a vague and general statement that anything could fall under that umbrella, including dressing up as a clown or wearing my underwear over my head. You can’t just take any random thing like stickers on hats and claim it is just as valid as wearing a suit and tie. There might as well not be standards for anything, using that logic. Next you’re going to call people fags for not liking stickers on hats.

  69. Take it from an OG and loose it. Kills the cap and it was all about jack’n and take’n back. It makes you look like a copy brat, but makes it easy for me to see where your at. Peace! Even to da poser bitches

  70. Nice Blog. Thank you for sharing and I want to share information about the Mitchell and Ness Hats collection from CraniumFitteds online store, including Mitchell and Ness Snapback Hats, Fitted Hats, Jackets, T-shirts and more.

  71. Hahahahaha. Well said. I was sitting in my college communications class when I realized this guy in front of me had left the sticker on his purple and yellow Lakers hat. “Adjustable fit” it says. To really top that and its obvious freshness it also still had the security sticker. I realized this is actually super prevalent in my generation. I naturally turned to google and this came up. So thanks for the info and facetious verbiage.

  72. Gotta admit, I have a snapback with the sticker on.

    I bought up two 9fifty snapbacks at the same time and peeled the sticker of the one I intended to wear first, only to find that it leaves a hellishly sticky mark that collects dirt like nothing else.

    Left the sticker on the second hat. Not a fan, but I figure it’s better to look like a poser douche than have a great bloody filthy circle on the brim. Not like people see the top of my hat that often anyway.

  73. Its such as you learn my thoughts! You appear to understand so much about this, like you wrote
    the e book in it or something. I feel that you can do
    with some % to force the message house a little bit, however other than that, this is great blog. A great read. I will definitely be back.

  74. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written much better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I am going to send this information to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

  75. I’ve never left one on but recently bought a White Sox cap. I’m leaving the sticker on just to piss all you dip shits off. Funny thing is I guarantee all the people talking shit don’t say a damn thing about it until they are safely behind their computer screens. Quit hatin, haters. Now go buy some skinny jeans and stfu you bunch of suckers. lol

  76. It’s actually a cool and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this useful information with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  77. 彼らはファッションのようにそれに従うどこへ行って結婚式イブニングパーティー市場キティパーティショッピング

  78. Do you imagine that Ray-Ban is much better than Oakley, or Salvatore Ferragamo is improved than Prada?
    Shoe fanatics, please subscribe to Trina’s Nationwide Shoe Posts. The liver is swollen really hard and delicate to the touch and pressure of outfits is unpleasant. Designer sunglass will have to be the to start with selection of a lot of fashionista.

Leave a Reply

